Hypnobirthing – a painfree birth?

Childbirth

Childbirth (Photo credit: popularpatty)

Today I am 3 days overdue and I’m actually quite glad, as I’ve had an extra few days to gather my thoughts, in particular about my chosen birth plan.

Six weeks ago, a friend of mine, who is also pregnant, mentioned that she is going to try hypnobirthing.  I had never heard of hypnobirthing before and I confessed to her that I’m absolutely petrified of the birthing day of my child and that all I want is drugs, drugs, drugs.

My friend listed the benefits of hypnobirthing, which included a pain free, drug free birth, a shorter labour and a calm mother and baby during and after the birth.  These benefits looked almost too good to be true, so I decided to do a bit of research.

In general, hypnobirthing is about eliminating fear around labour and birth and therefore, eliminating pain.  By ensuring that your muscles are relaxed, your mind is relaxed and allowing your body to do what it’s supposed to do, while deeply breathing in a calmed state, your contractions are very effective, your baby also remains calm and there is no need for any drugs due to little or no pain (assuming of course the mother and baby are healthy and there are no complications).

If the animal kingdom are able to give birth so easily, why can’t we humans?

As if fate had something to do with it, my prenatal Pilates instructor emailed me a list of helpful websites of which one was a hypnobirthing consultant who lived nearby.

So I signed up to this hypnobirthing class and since then I have been practising my breathing, relaxation techniques and meditation daily.  This method of birthing makes sense to me and I think is certainly worth attempting.  As I’m a first time mother and don’t know what to expect then I am still a little anxious of the unknown however I am no longer petrified and I am actually looking forward to the birth of my child.

Over the past week, for some reason, mother’s have told me about how painful childbirth can be and all of the complications that they or their friends have had.  This has not been helpful and I started to question whether birthing without an epidural was wise and whether or not I would be able to handle it.  I don’t know why people like to tell their war stories to someone who is about to go to “war”.  Especially when they know that I’m planning a natural birth.

So with these extra few days, I have been able to reread all my course notes and 100s of examples of mother’s who have successfully birthed their child using hypnobirthing methods and experiencing no pain.  I have to stay strong and remind myself that this is the best course for both me and my baby.  I hope that I am able to stay in this mind set, up until and during the birth of my first child.

I’ll let you know.

This entry was posted in Motherhood, Pregnancy and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

