Finding motivation to work at home

Working from Home

Working from Home (Photo credit: edgeplot)

Working from home, or rather finding the motivation to work from home is almost a job in itself, especially when heavily pregnant!

I currently contract 4 days a week and the day before my long weekend I have a list as long as my arm as to how I can work on my website, keep up to date with all of the social media and keep up to date / find relevant networks for others out there in the same position as me.

Then the 3 day weekend arrives and by the end of it, I found that I haven’t completed ANYTHING on my list!  This has happened for the last 3 weeks and I fear it may be a continuing trend.

Yes, I know that I’m now over 7 months pregnant and that I should be using this time to relax, as I won’t get this opportunity to do this again until my children are at university / working themselves but at the same time, I also won’t have time to spend hours on the internet when I have a baby around.  Not at least for the first 6 months (I think).

How can I try to do both?  Or is that just not possible?

It hasn’t helped that summer has finally arrived in London – which I would usually jump for joy like everyone else – but sitting on a sofa, sweating and swelling isn’t a great motivator.

Anyone have any good tips on how they remained motivated and essentially “got things done” when working from home?  I would love to hear your thoughts…!

This entry was posted in Career, Motherhood, New business at home, Pregnancy, Women in workplace and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

