Is working from home isolating, pre-kids?

Yesterday, a friend of mine came over to my house for lunch.  She has been working as a freelancer for 15 months and has decided to go back to the office for various reasons.

She was my last working from home buddy and she starts working her new job on Tuesday, next week.

When I first returned to London earlier this year year to begin this new lifestyle, I had three friends who were either working from home, or had just been made redundant and was on garden leave for a few months.

The selfish side of me – in particular with friend number 3 – thought that this was fantastic and set up a “ladies who lunch” whatsapp group and we organised lunches at each others houses during the week.  It broke up the week, forced you to get out of your tracksuits and into something presentable and more importantly allowed us to have proper social interaction.  Not just online interaction.

It also forced you not to feel so alone.

Now, as of Tuesday next week, all three friends have gone back.

A couple of times a week, I like to be one of those people who annoy cafe owners by taking my laptop to their establishment and spend a few hours working in their cafe after purchasing a sandwich and 2 cups of coffee (decaf – I’m getting used to it!).

I enjoy these visits, as it gets me out of the house and even though I’m not really talking to anyone besides the cashier, I’m surrounded by people and therefore – that feels like enough for me.

But perhaps more importantly, I see many, many mother’s in groups with their babies and huge buggies / strollers all catching up in theses cafes.  I would see this during every single visit.  And I’ve come to realise, post pregnancy, not only will my life change considerably again with looking after a little one who needs close to 100% of my time, there are so many mother’s clubs and groups around to join and realise that you aren’t alone and that you can have an adult’s conversation during the week that doesn’t include a shop assistant.

It’s a nice thing to look forward to.

As I’ve had friends around up until now, I haven’t looked for networks or groups to join now, but sitting in a cafe for the next 5 months doesn’t sound particularly appealing, perhaps now is the time to start searching.

This is one reason why living in London is great – as I’m 100% confident that there are probably hundreds of networks and groups to join, it’s just a matter of finding the right one for me.

 

 

This entry was posted in Career, Motherhood, New business at home and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

