An Introduction

Hello.

First post for me and to no one in particular, I thought I would just give a very brief outline of where I find myself today.

It’s 9am in a disgustingly cold London morning.  I’m telling you, it’s Arctic out there.  So considering that, the fact that I don’t have to go outside at all, if I don’t want to is quite nice.

My husband left at 8.30 am to go to work and I watched him go, still in my pjs, eating my breakfast and also very happy that I would rather it be him than me.

This horrendous smugness however, is not the whole truth.  It’s mornings like these that I feel very smug and happy, but in general, I feel a little like I’m in limbo and I’m not quite sure what’s going to happen next.

In November of last year, I gave up my job as a Departmental head in finance for a company that I used to love, until it was swallowed up by a massive global company a couple of years ago.  Since then, I hated my job.  All my decision making powers were taken away from me.  People were being made redundant in the most horrible way and profit, profit, profit was all that mattered.  Employees were like copier machines; if they broke, you just replaced them.

I really, really hated my job.  So when my fiance suggested that we travel for a couple of months before and after we marry – I thought it would be a perfect way to resign and come back to London refresh and look for a new role with a much smaller and hopefully friendlier company.

Then I got pregnant while travelling.

This is not bad news.  In fact, this is great news.  We definitely want to start a family and still do, but we didn’t realise that we would be one of the lucky few who didn’t have a problem conceiving.  Again, no complaints – but once returning to London, I had 8 months to kill.  What do I do with this time?

I know legally, I can apply for a new permanent job and I can’t be discriminated against due to my situation.  But do I really want to start a new job only to tell them that in six months time I’m going on maternity leave?

This didn’t sit well with me.

So I decided to spend time on a food website that I have been working on for about 6 months and never had the time to launch, see and do things in this amazing city now I have the time, keep the house clean – which I never really had the time for in the past, and work something else out.

Sounds amazing.  Sounds ideal.  And it was for the first 6 weeks.

But I think I’m getting cabin fever and I’m not sure that the grass is greener….

This entry was posted in General chit-chat and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to An Introduction

  1. Pingback: Trying to find work while pregnant | The grass is still green

Leave a Reply

